Tags

,

MotherhoodGrowing up, I never played with baby dolls or had that need to nurture. I didn’t enjoy babysitting and actually didn’t really like kids! Never thought I would have kids. In 2004, Husband #2 and I decided to have one and to everyone’s shock and awe, Fertile Myrtle was blessed with twins! We hot-tailed it out of the City and moved 50 miles West to Oswego, where I felt very isolated. We were blessed with a third boy in 2007. I can’t say being a mom was easy or always enjoyable. I changed jobs and sitters and nannies and even stayed at home for several stints trying to find my happy place. My isolation worsened and so did my drinking. The kids were a trigger. My husband was a trigger. I needed to escape.

In 2011, our twins were diagnosed with Autism (Asperger’s). We needed to get them into Naperville Schools, but instead of me escaping the opposite happened. My husband and our boys moved to Naperville…without me. I saw them every week on Fridays and Saturdays. We would “camp out in my bedroom”.

On April 29, 2013 I made the decision to get sober. That was the BEST decision I have ever made. Now four years later I have an incredible relationship with my kids. They are thriving. They want to spend time with me just as much as I want to with them. I see them almost every day. Ex husband #2 and I have an amicable relationship which truly benefits our boys. They stay with me and Mr. Steve every Friday and Saturday. The Dining Room table is now where we “camp out” for meals, games, and love. And I couldn’t be happier. I am truly blessed.

